Skip to Content
Call Us for a free consultation 703-382-5840

What is the link between DUI and manslaughter in Virginia?


As more states, including Virginia, continue to combat drunken driving, the penalties for even a first-time DUI offense grow harsher. Fairfax drunk driving consequences are severe and often include a jail sentence, even if no other crime occurred. You could also face fines of several thousand dollars if convicted.

When driving while intoxicated leads to the loss of life, involuntary manslaughter charges are likely to arise. Defendants facing this charge must begin protecting their freedom and rights as soon as possible.

Involuntary manslaughter is a serious felony

It is safe to assume that most (if not all) fatal DUI accidents are unintentional. The motorists that accidentally cause these deaths typically feel deep remorse in the aftermath of the crash.

Unfortunately, remorse is not a defense against DUI-related manslaughter charges. Judges have a responsibility to impose penalties that they feel match the severity of the offense. A conviction for alcohol-involved involuntary manslaughter—a Class 5 felony—typically leads to consequences like these.

One to ten years of confinement in prison


Up to 12 months in jail (rather than prison) along with a fine approaching $2,500

If the court finds that your actions were grossly negligent, demonstrating a reckless disregard for human life, you could face up to 20 years in prison if convicted.

Knowledge invites solutions

Every case of DUI-related involuntary manslaughter is unique and will benefit from a personalized approach. Learning more about DUI and manslaughter laws can help you fight for the most favorable outcome. Another advantage of accurate information is that it can guide you in presenting your side of the circumstances in the best possible way, potentially improving your situation.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Share To: