Skip to Content
Call Us for a free consultation 703-382-5840

Schedule I and II drug charges in Virginia


When it comes to drug laws in the United States, the federal government uses a scheduling system to classify the different types of prohibited substances. While state laws vary across the country, many reference the federal system. Virginia is one of them, with potentially tough penalities.

In the Old Dominion, there are soft drugs that fall under federal classification are now legal for adults over age 21. This is the case with some cannabis. However, other drugs, like heroin and LSD, still have harsh sentences in Virginia. For example, take a look at Schedule I and Schedule II substances.

Schedule I and II rules mostly reflect federal law

Outside of what Virginia’s law refers to as “industrial hemp, as defined in § 3.2-4112,” the state considers other forms of even cannabis as a Schedule I felony. In addition, other Schedule I drugs also mirror federal guidelines. The same is true for sent Schedule II controlled substances.

Penalties can be serious

Despite ongoing changes to state and national drug laws, penalties in Virginia can still be serious. For possessing a Schedule I or II controlled substance, you can face imprisonment of one to 10 years, 12 months in jail and/or fines up to $2,500. For intent to sell or distribute, punishments are more severe.

While drug laws continue to regularly shift, it is best to familiarize yourself with the most current updates if you are a medicinal or recreational consumer of Schedule I or II controlled substances. Doing so can help you ensure that whatever you possess is legal.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Share To: