Fairfax County police arrested one of their own officers recently for DUI following a non-injury, single-vehicle accident on an early Monday morning. The policeman is a veteran of the county police force and made contact with fellow law enforcement officers to report the overnight crash.
Charges of drunk driving have been replaced with reckless driving against professional wrestler Kurt Angle. Officers say Angle failed a preliminary breath test and had difficulty completing a field sobriety test after he was pulled over in early September outside of Linden.
A trial date has been set in Frederick County General District Court for mid-October for a Stephens City man charged with a repeat drunk driving offense. Police reported the 29-year-old man's alcohol breath test registered 0.30, more than three times the legal 0.08 limit for Virginia adult drivers.
Being arrested for and charged with drunk driving can be an overwhelming experience, and police are rarely sympathetic. Not only could a person be facing expensive fines and potentially jail time, a DUI charge could also seriously affect a person's livelihood, including his or her job. A Virginia college football coach recently experienced these unfortunate effects of a drunk driving charge when he was arrested for the offense just before the team's season opener.
A three-hour hearing for an ex-Washington Redskins defensive back ended with a Fairfax, Virginia, judge's conclusion that the former pro ballplayer was competent to stand trial for drunk driving. The 68-year-old retired football player was arrested last winter for DUI, his alleged third alcohol-related traffic offense in five years.
On March 27 of this year, a former investigator for the Bedford County Sheriff's Office was eyed traveling the wrong way down a highway in his police-issued vehicle. A witness alerted authorities by calling 911. The witness then followed the man for several miles, attempting to alert other drivers to his presence by flashing her lights.
Beginning in July, the rules for Virginia drivers under the age of 21 who are caught drinking and driving will get much more stringent. A suspended driver's license and a fine or community service await young drivers with blood alcohol levels at .02 percent or higher.