Facing Charges For Marijuana Possession?
Did the police find a baggie filled with marijuana in your trunk? Were you arrested for having a joint in your purse or dorm room? If the police have charged you with possession of marijuana, you probably have many questions about what will happen next.
The criminal defense lawyers at our Fairfax law firm focus almost exclusively on criminal defense. We can answer your questions and provide honest advice about what you should do about a drug-related offense. For almost 20 years, our firm has been helping people in Northern Virginia overcome criminal charges and move on in their lives.
For effective defense against drug possession and other drug charges, call 703-539-5825 or contact our firm today. We would be happy to discuss your case in a free telephone consultation.
Our defense lawyers have been able to help many other people charged with possession of marijuana or other illegal drugs. We work hard to obtain dismissals, reduction of charges and favorable plea agreements. With 20 years of experience, we have the courtroom skills to defend you against drug charges in court, if necessary.
Can I Go To Jail If I Am Found Guilty Of Possessing Marijuana?
According to Virginia’s criminal statutes, marijuana possession is a misdemeanor offense and the maximum sentence is 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. If this is not your first offense, possessing marijuana is a class 1 misdemeanor and you will face increased punishments. The potential sentence for a subsequent marijuana offense is a $2,500 fine and 12 months in jail.
What About My Driver’s License?
In Virginia, any conviction for a drug offense will result in the DMV suspending your driver’s license for six months. Depending on the facts of your individual case, we might be able to help you obtain a restricted license or conditional driver’s license during your suspension period. If you are picked up for driving after suspension though, you will face much tougher penalties.
Keeping Your Record Clean Through Alternative Sentencing
If this is your first drug offense, you may be eligible for deferred disposition or alternative sentencing options. The court has the option of delaying your case, usually for a period of six months. During that period, you would likely be required to be on probation, undergo a chemical dependency screening and not use drugs or alcohol. You might also be required to perform community service or complete treatment for drug addiction. If you meet all conditions of your probation, the court could dismiss your drug charges.
Making The Law Work For You With Tireless Advocacy
We will put our extensive experience to work, so we can protect your rights and future against drug possession charges. We are here to help and answer all of your questions. Use our contact form to schedule a free phone consultation or call 703-539-5825 today.