Schedule A Consultation
703-539-5825
View Our Practice Areas

Consequences are harsh in Virginia DUI cases

For anyone who gets pulled over for a suspected drunk driving offense, knowing their rights and responsibilities during the traffic stop and throughout the subsequent legal proceedings is vital. One of the considerations for drivers who are stopped is whether to participate in a Breathalyzer test.

In Virginia, you don't have the option of asking for a blood test to test your blood alcohol concentration. You do have the right to refuse the Breathalyzer test, but you should be aware of the consequences of doing so.

If it is your first DUI offense or breath test refusal, you will lose your driver's license if your BAC is found to be at or above the state minimum of .08 percent. This suspension will last seven days. The length of suspension increases for subsequent offenses, so if it is your third offense, your license is suspended until your trial.

On top of those considerations, you also have to consider the potential consequences of a conviction. If it is your first DUI conviction, you will lose your license for a year and face a mandatory fine of $250 at a minimum. A second DUI conviction carries a jail sentence of up to a year, a 3-year license revocation and a minimum of a $500 fine. A 10-day minimum jail term applies to second convictions that occur within 10 years of the first offense.

When you consider those consequences for breath test refusal and for convictions, it is easy to see why knowing your rights and understanding your responsibilities is necessary. A complete understanding of the laws might help you to present a defense that keeps the potential consequences to a minimum.

Source: Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles, "Virginia is Tough on Drunk and Drugged Drivers" Sep. 11, 2014

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Ronald E. Smith, P.C.

criminal defense & Social security disability law

Contact Our Northern Virginia Office

If you are facing criminal allegations, you need to get an attorney you can trust fighting for you. We are prepared to stand up for your rights.
Contact us online or by telephone at 703-539-5825 to speak with an experienced criminal lawyer.
For your convenience, we offer free initial telephone consultations.

Call 703-539-5825

Call For A Free Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Office Location
3900 University Drive
Suite 210
Fairfax, VA 22030

Phone: 703-539-5825
Fax: 703-352-3370
Map & Directions