DUI/DWI Defense in Fairfax, Virginia
If you have been arrested for a first-time drunk driving (DUI, DWI) offense, you face stiff penalties. We understand your initial arrest and incarceration were a traumatic event for you. You may lose your driver's license for up to year. You may spend significant time in jail. Your wallet may take a severe hit from fines or any impact on your ability to get to work because of restricted driving privileges.
At Ronald E. Smith, P.C., we provide intelligent criminal defense representation for people facing first offense DWI/DUI charges in Virginia. We always put our clients first and never forget that we are working for you, not the other way around.
Contact us today online or by telephone at 703-539-5825 to speak with an experienced Fairfax, Virginia, criminal defense attorney.
First-Time DWI/DUI Defense
The maximum penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Virginia are:
- $2500 fine
- One year in jail (including mandatory jail for higher blood alcohol cases)
- 12 month driver's license suspension (plus requirements for an ignition interlock device in higher blood alcohol cases)
In addition to criminal penalties, there are other potential consequences to consider. A DUI conviction can hamper your employment prospects and your personal life. Many people in our area rely on secret clearance privileges to perform their job functions. A DUI conviction could put those privileges in jeopardy. This makes the need for experienced defense representation even greater.
Under certain circumstances, a first-time DUI offender may be able to seek amended charges, including what has come to be known as a "wet reckless." This amended charge may carry reduced penalties and is not formally considered a DUI conviction. If you are eligible for this DUI "reduction," you will have to attend counseling (ASAP), but license loss or suspension is cut in half. Also, a wet reckless conviction may be less likely to cause you to lose your job or your top secret clearance privileges. The details of your arrest will be carefully reviewed and any available reduction or even dismissal of charges will be sought.
If you are facing a first-time DWI/DUI offense charge, we are prepared to stand up for your rights. Contact us today online or by telephone at 703-539-5825 to speak with a highly-qualified criminal defense lawyer. For your convenience, we offer free initial telephone consultations.